Skip to main content

On the occasion of the World Press Freedom Day the EU Prize for Journalism 2023 is launched

The EU Prize for Journalism will be awarded in the following categories:

  1. Best story in print or online media;
  2. Best feature story in broadcast or online media;
  3. Best investigative story in print, online, or broadcast media;
  4. Best blog, opinion or column in print, online or broadcast media;
  5. The most innovative and original piece of work in print, broadcast or online media;
  6. Best documentary photo reflecting EU values;
  7. Best Student work in print, online or broadcast media;

The EUMM Special Prize for Peace Journalism will be awarded for the best conflict-sensitive journalistic work contributing to confidence-building and peace in the context of armed conflicts in Georgia.

The winners of the first seven categories will receive a cash prize of approximately 5,200 GEL each, while the winner of the EUMM Special Prize will receive a one-month fellowship at the Institute of War and Peace Reporting in London.

The deadline for submission of all entries is 1 November 2023.

Contact persons:  

For the EU Prize for journalism
Tamriko Mikadze – Tamriko.Mikadze@eeas.europa.eu

For the EUMM Special Prize for Peace Journalism 
Nino Gezmava  – nino@iwpr.net


Established in 2012, the EU Prize for Journalism is an annual event that encourages professionalism and ethical conduct in Georgian journalism. The Special Prize for conflict-sensitive journalism rewards media outlets contributing to confidence building and peace and is handed out by the European Union Monitoring Mission.  The rules of the EU Prize for Journalism have been inspired by the principles of the Georgian Charter of Journalistic Ethics and seek to encourage professionalism and ethics in Georgian Journalism.