Skip to main content

European Union Prize in Journalism 2022 – This year, the competition will award winners in eight categories

“I was blown away by these authors: they helped me see new things and made me think about their way of thinking, about how they work on their material and master the Georgian word,” Natia Abramia, BBC Quality Control & Risk Manager and EU Prize in Journalism Jury Member, says about the 2021 EU Prize in Journalism shortlist.

For a decade, the EU office has encouraged Professional standards and ethical conduct in Georgian journalism. An even-more diverse 11th year of the competition is ahead, and the application process for this year’s competition has already opened.

Deadline for submissions is November 1, 2022.

In addition to a renewed jury, this year’s competition is also open to students. The 11th competition will recognize the best student story published in print, broadcast or online media and students from accredited universities in Georgia will be encouraged to participate. The purpose of the nomination is to facilitate and support aspiring journalists on their way to professional growth.

This year, the prise will be awarded in eight categories. The European Union Monitoring Mission (EUMM) will again offer its Special Prize for Peace Journalism. The jury will select the best conflict-sensitive journalistic work.

“The Special Prize for Peace Journalism is particularly relevant in today’s environment. Independent, conflict-sensitive journalism that helps rebuild trust and establish lasting peace deserves this award,” explains Marek Szczygieł, Head of the EUMM in Georgia.

“Best Documentary Photo” is one of the traditional categories of the competition. The best documentary photo, published in print or online media and depicting the EU values will be awarded again this year.

Last year, Giorgi Shengelia, a photographer whose work was related to religious diversity in Tbilisi, won in this nomination. Giorgi notes that such competitions and evaluations of journalist work gives more incentives to media representatives. He says: “Such recognition award is always important for any photographer, because it strengthens our belief our correct focus from photographic perspective and increases our motivation to continue working in the future.”

This year, winners will be revealed in eight categories:

  • Best story in print or online media;
  • Best feature story in broadcast or online media;
  • Best investigative story /feature in print, online, or broadcast media;
  • Best online or print blog, opinion or column in print or online media;
  • The most innovative and original piece of work in print, online or broadcast media;
  • Best documentary photo reflecting EU values (Human rights, including minority rights, social justice, respect for human dignity, freedom of speech, democracy, equality and rule of law) and published in print or online media;
  • Best Student work in print, online or broadcast media.
  • Best conflict-sensitive journalistic work contributing to confidence-building and peace in the context of armed conflicts in Georgia, displaying high standards of journalistic ethics and professionalism (The EUMM Special Prize for Peace Journalism).

Journalism is a highly challenging occupation owing to the stressful environment journalists operate in every day, and therefore judges believe that such awards are the best way to express gratitude to journalists, to motivate and encourage them. Such competitions also contribute to the implementation of professional standards, as well as reveal qualitative improvement of works.

One of the main functions of the media is to awaken the public, highlight problematic issues and encourage solutions. The highly covered EU Prize in Journalism is already a traditional way of evaluating and rewarding their work.

As the contestants mentioned last year, they were not working for prizes, yet were proud to participate or win in such a prestigious contest.

The EU Prize in Journalism was established in 2012 at the initiative of the EU Delegation to Georgia, with the rules of the EU Prize for Journalism have been inspired by the principles of the Georgian Charter of Journalistic Ethics.